Kaari and rice

This is a very traditional dish from my community, Bohra, and very easy to prepare.

IMG_20170710_125943559_HDR

This one of my staple foods. My mom stocks me up with the spice when I visit India but it’s also available here. I keep it refrigerated. Fancier version of the recipe is here.

  1. Fry 4 tbs of this spice with oil on medium flame for one minute
  2. Add a can of coconut milk slowly while mixing the spices
  3. Add  1/2 a can of water to the mixture
  4. Add ~2 dried red chili peppers (available at Mexican stores). Skip if you don’t do a lot of spice
  5. Add ~1.5 lbs of skinless chicken (I prefer thighs)
  6. Cook for ~20 minutes
  7. Add lemon and salt to taste
  8. (Optional) Add cilantro/lettuce strips for garnish

What I like about this simple recipe is it offers a unique taste and flavor and is very good value for time. It works with various subs. I could swap out the chicken for boiled eggs if they are about to go bad. I could add corn to the recipe. I could make a vegetarian version with mushroom, baby corn and bamboo shoots. The garnish in the picture is spinach – not ideal but I needed to work some leftover greens in.

It goes well with boiled rice or sweet bread like potato bread.

Pro Cooking Tip 3: White sauces need not be fatty

See why I weigh about a 105 lbs? 🙂

One thought on “Kaari and rice

Leave a Reply

